History

Belgian Nuclear Safety Authority

Up to 2001, the Belgian Nuclear Safety Authority was made up of two services created by Royal Decrees from 1981, the SSTIN and the SPRI. A new Federal Agency for Nuclear Control (FANC) has been established by the law of 15 april 1994 and centralizes since September 1st, 2001 the staff of both SSTIN and SPRI. In Belgium, the regulatory inspections of nuclear installations are not carried out directly by the competent Safety Authority but are delegated to authorised inspection organizations.

AVN – Authorised inspection and licensing body

In 1969, a Nuclear Safety Department was set up within the Association Vinçotte, just at the moment when the first units of Doel 1 and 2 and Tihange 1 were ordered. This Department was immediately authorised and put in charge of the regulatory control of the nuclear power plants.

In 1990, as a result of the merge of both authorised organizations Vinçotte and AIB, the Nuclear Safety Department became officially AIB-Vinçotte Nuclear, in short AVN. As a private company, AVN did not belong to the Administration : AVN was authorised by the Belgian Nuclear Safety Authority and reported on a quarterly basis to its Surveillance Committee, which was chaired by a representative of the Administration.

AVN – Independent Control

In 1995, AVN became completely independent from both an administrative and a financial viewpoint and left the AIB-Vinçotte group.

In 1996, the merge of AVN with another authorised organization, CORAPRO, involved in addition to the regulatory control of the power plants, the control of most of the other class 1 nuclear installations (SCK•CEN, Belgonucléaire, Belgoprocess, IRE,…)

In 1999, AVN changed its name into Association Vinçotte Nuclear and later moved into a brand new building in August 2001.

Creation of Bel V and transfer of the regulatory activities of AVN

In September 2007, the FANC has created a subsidary, a foundation of private law, called Bel V.

On 14/04/2008, the regulatory activities of AVN, as well as the concerned staff, have been transferred to this subsidiary of the FANC.

Since that day, Bel V constitutes the Technical Safety Organisation (TSO) of the Belgian Nuclear Safety Authority.

Presentations are available here (website FANC) : French - Dutch

Applicable regulations in Belgium

Generally speaking, Belgium has chosen the American rules for the design and construction of its nuclear power plants, i.e. the requirements of the Code of Federal Regulations (10CFR50), as well as of the ASME code, of the ANS/IEEE standards and of the documents issued by the US-NRC such as the Regulatory Guides, the Standard Review Plans, the NUREGs,…

Furthermore, Bel V must conform to the Belgian rules and regulations, including the transposition in the Belgian law of the relevant European directives; the American rules have been adapted to cope with the two following regulations :

Belgian regulation for the protection of the workers.

 

The regulation concerned is the code for the welfare at work (previously the RGPT/ARAB), applicable to pressure equipment, electrical installations, lifting equipment.

Regarding the pressure vessels which are part of the nuclear installations, a derogation has been promulgated to allow the replacement of the Belgian rules (RGPT/ARAB) by the American ones; moreover, a transposition in Belgium of the regulatory aspects of the ASME code had to be established.

Belgian regulation for the protection of the population, the workers and the environment against the danger of ionising radiations.

 

Since years, the regulation concerned was the Royal Decree of 28 February 1963, applicable to the nuclear installations, which are classified in Class 1 to 4 according to the amount of fissile material and to the amount and type of radionuclides present; for instance, a nuclear plant belongs to class 1, as well as some fuel cycle facilities.

Now, there is a new Royal Decree of 20 July 2001 which replaces the Royal Decree of 28 February 1963, and which transposes the latest Euratom directives (basic standards, patient protection,…) and takes into account the existence of the Federal Agency for Nuclear Control (FANC) operational since 1st September 2001.

Historique

Autorité Belge de Sûreté Nucléaire

Jusqu'en 2001, l'Autorité Belge de Sûreté Nucléaire était composée des deux services créés par des Arrêtés Royaux datant de 1981, à savoir le SSTIN et le SPRI. La loi du 15 avril 1994 a créé l'Agence Fédérale de Contrôle Nucléaire (AFCN) qui regroupe entre autres, depuis le 1er septembre 2001, le personnel du SSTIN et du SPRI. En Belgique, les inspections réglementaires des installations nucléaires ne sont pas effectuées directement par l'Autorité de Sûreté compétente mais sont déléguées à des organismes agréés.

AVN – Organisme agréé

En 1969 fut créé un Département de Sûreté Nucléaire au sein de l'Association Vinçotte, au moment où les premières tranches de Doel 1 et 2 et Tihange 1 venaient d'être commandées. Ce Département fut immédiatement agréé et chargé de la surveillance réglementaire des centrales électronucléaires.

En 1990, suite à la fusion des deux organismes agréés Vinçotte et AIB, le Département de Sûreté Nucléaire devint officiellement AIB-Vinçotte Nucléaire, en abrégé AVN. En tant qu'organisme de droit privé, AVN ne fait pas partie de l'Administration: il est agréé par l'Autorité belge de Sûreté Nucléaire et fait rapport trimestriellement à sa Commission de Surveillance, présidée par un représentant de l'Administration.

AVN – Contrôle indépendant

En 1995, AVN est devenu complètement indépendant administrativement et financièrement et a quitté le groupe AIB-Vinçotte.

En 1996, la fusion d'AVN avec un autre organisme agréé, CORAPRO, apporta à AVN, en plus de la surveillance réglementaire des centrales de puissance, celle de la plupart des autres installations nucléaires de classe 1 (SCK•CEN, Belgonucléaire, Belgoprocess, IRE,…).

En 1999, AVN changea son nom en Association Vinçotte Nucléaire pour ensuite emménager dans un nouveau bâtiment en août 2001.

Création de Bel V et transfert des activités réglementaires d'AVN

Le 7 septembre 2007, l'Agence fédérale de Contrôle nucléaire (AFCN) a créé une filiale baptisée Bel V sous la forme d'une fondation de droit privé.

Les activités réglementaires d'AVN et des membres de son personnel concerné ont été transférées vers cette filiale de l'AFCN le 14 avril 2008. Les activités réglementaires belges dans le domaine de la sûreté nucléaire et de la radioprotection sont donc centralisées depuis cette date, avec pour conséquence l'application d'une approche mieux intégrée par l'AFCN et Bel V dans l'intérêt de la protection des travailleurs et de la population.

Depuis cette date, Bel V constitue dès lors le Support Technique de l'autorité de sûreté belge.

Présentations disponible ici (site web de l'AFCN)

Réglementations applicables en Belgique

De manière générale, la Belgique a adopté les règles américaines pour la conception et la construction de ses centrales nucléaires; il s'agit essentiellement des impositions du Code of Federal Regulations (10CFR50), ainsi que du code ASME, des standards ANS et IEEE et des documents édités par l'US-NRC, tels que les Regulatory Guides, les Standard Review Plans, les NUREG,…

Par ailleurs, Bel V doit se conformer aux textes légaux et réglementaires belges, incluant la transposition en droit belge des directives européennes en la matière; les règles américaines ont été adaptées de manière à respecter les deux règlements suivants :

Règlement Belge pour la Protection des Travailleurs.

 

Il s'agit du code pour le bien-être au travail (anciennement RGPT), applicable aux appareils sous pression, aux installations électriques, aux engins de levage.

En ce qui concerne les appareils sous pression faisant partie des installations nucléaires, une dérogation a été promulguée afin de remplacer la législation classique belge (RGPT) par les règles américaines; de plus une transposition sur le plan belge des aspects administratifs du code ASME a été établie.

Règlement Belge pour la Protection de la Population, des Travailleurs et de l'environnement contre le danger des radiations ionisantes.

 

Il s'agissait depuis des années de l'Arrêté Royal du 28 février 1963 applicable aux installations nucléaires qui sont réparties en 4 classes (Classes I à IV) en fonction de la quantité de matières fissiles et de la quantité et du type de radionucléides présents; ainsi, par exemple, une centrale nucléaire est en classe I tout comme certaines installations liées au cycle du combustible.

Il s'agit actuellement de l'Arrêté Royal du 20 juillet 2001 qui remplace l'Arrêté Royal du 28 février 1963, et qui transpose les dernières directives Euratom (normes de base, protection du patient,…) et tient compte de l'existence de l'Agence Fédérale de Contrôle Nucléaire (AFCN) opérationnelle depuis le 1er septembre 2001.