Reactor

In a nuclear power plant, heat is generated in the reactor by fissioning  uranium nuclei. The heat produced is absorbed by a "primary circuit" containing water which flows through the reactor. A pressurizer is used to keep this water under high pressure, thus preventing it from boiling. After the hot water of the primary circuit has transferred its energy in the steam generator, a primary pump  pumps it back to the reactor.

The fuel assemblies are part of the reactor core. They are installed in the cylindrical reactor vessel with a hemispherical bottom head and a removable upper head fixed with studs and nuts; the vessel contains the reactor internals designed to support the reactor core, and to provide a passageway for the reactor coolant from the bottom to the top. The reactor vessel is made of manganese molybdenum steel forgings selected for its weldability and its mechanical and radiation resistant properties. Internal surfaces are cladded with stainless steel deposited by welding.

Each reactor core consists of 157 fuel assemblies with fuel rods. These are composed of sintered uranium dioxide fuel pellets contained in a Zircaloy 4 tube, and each end of the tube is sealed by a welded end plug. This tight metal tube allows the heat to be dissipated whilst retaining the fission products. Each assembly contains the fuel rods in a square array bound together by a skeletal frame work composed of top and bottom nozzles, grids and control rod guide thimbles; the latter serve as guide for the rod cluster control assemblies. An in-core instrumentation guide thimble is located in the centre of the assembly.

The heavy metals uranium and plutonium can be used as fissile fuel

Uranium exists naturally in the form of three "isotopes" : an extremely small fraction of U-234, a small amount of U-235 (0.7%) and U-238 (nearly 99%). Whilst the nucleus of U-235 can be split! This is not the case for U-238. In order to obtain enough fissile U-235 in the nuclear fuel to sustain a controlled chain reactor, the natural uranium from the mine is enriched or concentrated to 3-4% U-235; which is the ideal concentration for a self-sustaining controlled chain reaction in a PWR-reactor.

Plutonium does not exist naturally. This heavy metal is produced in the nuclear reactor itself when U-238 becomes Pu-239 upon absorption of a neutron. 

Spent fuel is taken out of the reactor after four years and can be recycled in a reprocessing plant. The plutonium can be mixed with uranium to manufacture new fuel assemblies : MOX, "mixed oxide" or a mixture of 93% uranium and 7% plutonium oxide (by weight). This type of recycling saves energy and limits the total quantity of nuclear waste.

1.

Control rad drive mechanism

2.

Studs

3.

Upper head

4.

O-ring seals

5.

Upper support plate

6.

Fuel assemblies

7.

Core barrel

8.

Control rod guide thimble

9.

Guide thimble support plate

10.

Rod cluster control assemblies

11.

Reactor vessel

12.

Core support plate

13.

In-core instrumentation guide thimble

14.

Damper

The pressurizer is a cylindrical reservoir connected to the primary circuit and placed at a high level in the reactor building. Its function is to prevent the water in the primary circuit from boiling or evaporating at a temperature of 320°C. To do this, the water must be kept under extremely high pressure: the higher the pressure, the higher the boiling point. Electrical resistance heats the water in the pressurizer to a higher temperature than the operating temperature of the primary circuit. This creates a "steam cushion" at the top of the pressurizer which maintains a constant pressure of approximately 155 bar. The pressure can be decreased by spraying colder water into the pressurizer and thus gradually getting the steam condensed.


Reloading fissile fuel into the reactor

The reactor is controlled by raising or lowering in the core rod cluster control assemblies consisting of neutron absorber rods mainly composed of stainless steel tubes encapsulating silver-indium-cadmium absorber material and sliding into the tubular guide thimble of the fuel assembly. The rod cluster control assemblies are positioned by a separate electro-magnetic drive mechanism hermetically sealed to avoid reactor coolant leakage.

The action of the rod cluster control assemblies allows rapid reactivity variations required for the operation of the nuclear steam supply system, especially in the event of load transients or during reactor start-up; it also allows for immediate reactor shutdown in emergency cases.

Control of the reactor also requires compensation for slow reactivity variations due to the temperature effects, to poisoning by fission products or to fuel depletion. This compensation is obtained by adding or subtracting boric acid, a neutron absorber which is dissolved in the reactor coolant.

Finally, the in-core instrumentation allows to determine the distribution of the axial and radial neutron flux in the various assemblies, and the ex-core instrumentation, permanently monitoring the global neutron flux, supply the operator with all the information he needs for the efficient control of the reactor.

Réacteur

Dans une centrale nucléaire, la chaleur est générée dans le réacteur par les réactions de fission  des noyaux d'uranium. La chaleur produite est absorbée par l'eau du "circuit primaire" qui circule dans le réacteur. Un pressuriseur est utilisé pour maintenir cette eau sous haute pression ce qui empêche son ébullition.  L'eau du circuit primaire, chauffée lors de son passage dans le réacteur, transfère son énergie dans les générateurs de vapeur et  est renvoyée vers le réacteur par les pompes primaires.

Les assemblages de combustible font partie du cœur du réacteur. Ils sont placés dans la cuve du réacteur. Celle-ci est cylindrique avec un fond hémisphérique et un couvercle amovible fixé par des goujons vissés; la cuve contient les internes du réacteur qui sont conçus pour supporter le cœur du réacteur, et permettre le passage ascendant de l'eau circuit primaire. 

La cuve du réacteur est faite en acier au manganèse-molybdène forgé choisi pour sa soudabilité et ses propriétés de résistance mécanique et de tenue aux radiations. Les surfaces internes sont revêtues d'acier inoxydable fixé par soudage.

Chaque cœur de réacteur consiste en 157 assemblages de crayons combustibles. Ceux-ci sont composés de pastilles de dioxide d'uranium fritté dans un tube de Zircaloy-4 dont les extrémités sont fermées par un bouchon soudé.  Ce tube métallique hermétique permet la dissipation de la chaleur tout en confinant les produits de fission.  Chaque assemblage est constitué de crayons combustibles maintenus dans une maille à pas carré par une armature constituée de deux pièces d'extrémité (servant d'ajutages d'entrée et de sortie pour l'eau primaire), de grilles et de tubes guides pour les barres de contrôle. De plus, un tube d'instrumentation "in-core" est situé au centre de l'assemblage.

L' uranium et le plutonium peuvent être utilisés comme matière fissile.

 

L'uranium existe à l'état naturel sous forme de 3 "isotopes": une très faible proportion d'U-234, une petite proportion d'U-235 (0.7%) et le reste est de l'U-238 (près de 99%). Seuls les noyaux d'U-235 sont fissibles! Ce n'est pas le cas de l'U-238. Pour obtenir suffisamment de noyaux fissiles dans le combustible nucléaire afin de maintenir une réaction en chaîne contrôlée, l'uranium naturel est enrichi à 3-4% en U-235. 

Le plutonium n'existe pas à l'état naturel. Il est produit dans le réacteur nucléaire lors de l'absorption d'un neutron par U-238 pour donner du Pu-239. 

Le combustible usé est extrait du réacteur après 4 années. Il peut alors être recyclé dans une usine de retraitement. Le plutonium peut être mélangé à l'uranium pour fabriquer de nouveaux assemblages combustibles: MOX (Mixed Oxide) qui est un mélange de 93% (proportion massique) d'uranium avec 7% d'oxyde plutonium. Ce type de recyclage permet une économie d'énergie et limite la quantité totale de déchets nucléaires.

 

1.

Control rad drive mechanism

2.

Studs

3.

Upper head

4.

O-ring seals

5.

Upper support plate

6.

Fuel assemblies

7.

Core barrel

8.

Control rod guide thimble

9.

Guide thimble support plate

10.

Rod cluster control assemblies

11.

Reactor vessel

12.

Core support plate

13.

In-core instrumentation guide thimble

14.

Damper

Le pressuriseur est un réservoir cylindrique connecté au circuit primaire. Il est placé haut dans le bâtiment réacteur. Sa fonction est d'éviter l'ébullition de l'eau du circuit primaire qui est à 320°C. Pour ce faire, l'eau du circuit primaire doit être maintenue à une pression très élevée: au plus la pression est élevée au plus la température d'ébullition est élevée. Des résistances électriques chauffent l'eau dans le pressuriseur à une température supérieure à la température du circuit primaire. Ce faisant, une bulle de vapeur est créée au sommet du pressuriseur. La pression du circuit est ainsi maintenue à une pression constante d'environ 155 bar. Une diminution de pression est obtenue par aspersion d'eau froide dans le pressuriseur avec condensation progressive de la vapeur.


Rechargement de combustible dans le réacteur

La réaction en chaîne dans le réacteur est contrôlée par introduction ou extraction graduelle de grappes de contrôle dans le cœur. Ces grappes de contrôle sont constituées de crayons absorbants neutroniques composés d'un alliage Argent-Indium-Cadmium, gainé d'un tube en acier inoxydable, et qui glissent dans les tubes guides des assemblages combustibles. Les grappes de contrôle sont positionnées par un mécanisme de déplacement électromagnétique fermé hermétiquement pour éviter la fuite d'eau primaire dans le bâtiment réacteur. 

Le mouvement des grappes de contrôle permet des variations rapides de réactivité, qui sont requises pour le bon fonctionnement du système de production de vapeur, notamment lors de variations de charge ou lors de démarrage du réacteur; il permet également l'arrêt immédiat du réacteur en cas d'urgence. 

Le contrôle du réacteur requiert également la compensation des variations lentes de réactivité dues aux effets de température, à "l'empoisonnement" par les produits de fission ou à "l'usure" du combustible. Cette compensation est obtenue par injection d'acide borique (absorbant neutronique) dans l'eau du circuit primaire ou par injection d'eau dans ce circuit primaire.

L'instrumention "in-core" permet de déterminer la distribution axiale et radiale du flux neutronique dans le réacteur tandis que l'instrumentation "ex-core" enregistre en permanence le flux neutronique global. Ces informations permettent à l'opérateur de contrôler le réacteur.