Alternator

Converting mechanical energy into electricity - that is the fundamental energy conversion which occurs in every power plant, regardless of the energy source used (water, wind, fossil fuels or nuclear fuel). This conversion is achieved using a generator. The operation is based on Faraday’s Law of induction (which states that an alternating or moving magnetic field induces an electrical current in a conducting circuit). The magnetic field can be derived from a permanent magnet, but for industrial production purposes, a powerful electromagnet is much more efficient.

Electricity production by means of a generator

In practice, a generator consists of a rotor rotating inside a stator. The rotor is an electromagnet which is "energized" by a direct current. The stator consists of a static cylinder with copper windings, in which a three-phase alternating current is generated as a result of the rotation of the rotor. The rotor rotates at a constant speed, in order to obtain an accurate mains frequency of 50 Hz.

Transformers are used to step up the voltage derived from the output of the generator to 380 kV so that the power losses experienced during the transfer to the consumer are minimized as much as possible. Due to the higher voltage, the amperage will drop correspondingly. The electricity is routed via a high-voltage substation to the interconnected network which links together the major power plants, both nationally and internationally. Finally the power is routed via transformer substations in order to supply the consumer with the required voltage.

Alternateur

L'alternateur transforme l'énergie mécanique en électricité

Convertir l'énergie mécanique en électricité - est un processus fondamental effectué dans toutes les centrales électriques et ce, quelle que soit la source d'énergie utilisée (eau, vent, combustibles fossiles ou nucléaires).   Cette conversion est réalisée dans un alternateur.  L'opération est basée sur la loi d'induction de Faraday (qui établit qu'un champ magnétique alternatif ou mobile induit un courant électrique dans un circuit conducteur). Le champ magnétique d'un aimant peut être utilisé, mais pour des applications industrielles, un puissant électro-aimant offre un bien meilleur rendement.

Production d'électricité par un alternateur

En pratique, un alternateur consiste en un rotor tournant à l'intérieur d'un stator. Le rotor est un électro-aimant qui est énergisé par un courant continu. Le stator est constitué d'un cylindre fixe avec des enroulements en cuivre dans lequel est généré un courant alternatif triphasé suite à la rotation du rotor. Le rotor tourne à vitesse constante pour obtenir un courant alternatif de fréquence 50 Hz.

La tension à la sortie de l'alternateur est portée à 380 kV par des Transformateurs afin de limiter, autant que possible, les pertes durant le transport au consommateur. L'augmentation de la tension implique une diminution de l'intensité du courant. L'électricité transite via un poste haute-tension au réseau interconnecté qui relie les principales centrales électriques nationales et internationales. Finalement, l'électricité est transportée aux consommateurs via des transformateurs pour obtenir la tension voulue.