Regulatory activities

Nuclear Power Plants

The current regulatory activities of Bel V for the 7 Belgian nuclear units (4 on Doel site, 3 on Tihange site) cover mainly the following operational aspects:

Site Inspections  
 

• Permanent inspections during operation by an authorized agency are required by the regulations. The goal of such inspections is to verify compliance with the license, as well as the licensee’s safety organization and culture.


• One Bel V inspector is dedicated to each unit, and one coordinator is responsible for guidance of the unit inspectors and coordination of the inspections at both sites: they belong to the NRI Department (Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection Inspection), and are supported directly by the Bel V specialists, from the competent Technical Responsibility Centres.


• The permanent surveillance is performed by the unit inspectors through weekly systematic visits. In addition, thematic inspections are performed. These thematic inspections cover about 12 predefined areas (Fire protection, Emergency Planning…). Finally, specific inspections take place in case of particular events, incidents/accidents, modifications or licensing of control room personnel.

  Inspections may take place at any time, in any field of activity, with no access restriction.
Follow-up of Modifications  
 

• "important modifications" require a license delivered along the same procedural manner as the initial one (i.e. upon positive advice of the Scientific Council of the FANC);


• examples of "important modifications" are: rated power increase, replacement of steam generators, use of mixed oxide fuel (MOX), spent fuel storage extension,...


• so-called "non-important modifications" proposed by the licensee are assessed and checked by Bel V.

Periodic Safety Review  
 

The royal decree “Safety prescriptions for nuclear installations” of November 30, 2011 requires a systematic re-evaluation of the nuclear safety of an existing installation (or activity), at regular intervals, to fight against the cumulative effects of ageing, modifications, experience feedback, technical evolution and site-related aspects. This re-evaluation aims at ensuring high-level safety, during the entire life of the installation (or activity). The abovementioned royal decree adds the WENRA “reference levels” to the Belgian legislation, as well as the transposition of the European directive on safety (2009/71).

The decennial re-evaluations consist in a global evaluation of all important aspects related to the safety of the installation, by the licensee, with an aim of ensuring further operation and defining corrective measures to increase the safety level of the installation as much as possible.

To conduct these decennial re-evaluations, the FANC recommends the use of the safety factors, as defined in safety guidance SSG-25 of the IAEA.

Bel V evaluates the methodology documents, the evaluation reports of the safety factors and the dimensioning of the auxiliary installations, the global evaluation and the action plans as proposed by the licensee, and transfers its evaluation to the FANC.

 
Other installations

Legal inspections and safety assessments for Class-1 installations other than nuclear power plant:

• fuel cycle facilities : Belgonucléaire, Belgoprocess

• nuclear Research Center : SCK•CEN

• production and conditioning facility for radionuclides : IRE

• THETIS research reactor at the University of Ghent.

Legal inspections, for some class 2 and 3-installations:

• nuclear medicine centers (radiotherapy, diagnoses, ...)

• medical facilities (X-rays used by physicians, dentists, ...)

• irradiation facilities

• university laboratories

• particles accelerators (Cyclotrons)

• service center for nuclear power plants

Legal inspections = Periodic control of the Health Physics department and of the correct execution of its missions. The minimum periodicity of the control depends on the type of installation: permanent for Class 1, quarterly for Class 2, annually for Class 3.

SCK•CEN  

Nuclear Research Center created in 1952 and located on the Dessel-Mol nuclear site

Missions focus on nuclear science and technology, in particular nuclear safety, reactor experiments, radiation protection and radioactive waste management

Composed of different installations:

 
Reactors:  

• VENUS zero-power reactor


• BR1 graphite reactors


• BR2 materials testing reactor


• BR3 research PWR, in decommissioning phase


View of the BR2 reactor

Laboratories:  

• high and medium-level activities

• HADES underground facility for the study of geological waste disposal

• reactor safety oriented

• waste disposal oriented

Fuel cycle facilities installations
Belgonucléaire

Located on the Dessel-Mol nuclear site In operation since 1973 Specialized in the fabrication of MOX fuel for light water reactors. The MOX-production in Belgonuclaire stopped in 2007. The installations are now in dismantling phase.

Belgoprocess

Located on the Dessel-Mol nuclear site Wholly owned subsidiary of ONDRAF/NIRAS, the public agency in charge of radioactive waste management in Belgium In operation since 1984 with a present workforce of 300 persons. ONDRAF/NIRAS gave Belgoprocess the task of processing the radioactive waste produced in Belgium, which cannot be processed by the producers themselves The principal objective of Belgoprocess is to manage radioactive waste in such a way that the risks of harmful effects for people and the environment are kept to a minimum.

Activities can be divided in two areas:

the safe and efficient treatment, conditioning and temporary storage of radioactive waste from nuclear power plants, hospitals, laboratories,...

the dismantling of nuclear installations and buildings, in particular of Eurochemic, a reprocessing plant located on the Dessel-Mol site and definitely closed down at the end of the seventies.

Institut des Radioéléments (IRE)

Located in Fleurus
In operation since 1971
Specialized in the production and conditioning of radionuclides for medical applications

Activités réglementaires

Centrales nucléaires

Les activités réglementaires de Bel V pour les 7 unités nucléaires belges (4 sur le site de Doel et 3 sur le site de Tihange) couvrent principalement les aspects suivants:

Inspections sur site  
 

• Des inspections permanentes durant l'exploitation par un organisme agréé sont requises par la réglementation. L'objectif de ces inspections est de vérifier le respect de l'arrêté d'autorisation, l'organisation de la sûreté et la culture de sûreté de l'exploitant.


• Un inspecteur Bel V est en charge du suivi de chaque unité, et un coordinateur est responsable de la coordination des inspections sur toutes les unités: ces inspecteurs font partie de la Division NRI (Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection Inspection) et sont soutenus dans leur tâche par les spécialistes de Bel V des différents "Technical Responsibility Centres" (TRC).


• La surveillance permanente est effectuée par chaque ingénieur d'unité lors d'inspections systématiques hebdomadaires. A côté de ces inspections, des inspections thématiques sont également effectuées. Ces inspections thématiques traitent d'environ 12 domaines prédéfinis (Protection incendie, Plan d’Urgence, etc.). En outre, des inspections spécifiques sont effectuées en cas d'évènements particuliers, d'incidents/accidents, de modifications ou lors de l'habilitation du personnel de salle de commande.

  Les inspections de Bel V peuvent avoir lieu à tout moment, dans tout domaine d'activités sans restriction d'accès.
Suivi des modifications  
 

• les modifications importantes qui requièrent une autorisation délivrée selon le même principe que l'autorisation initiale c'est-à-dire soumise à l'avis du Conseil Scientifique de l’AFCN;


• Exemples de modifications importantes: augmentation de puissance, remplacement des générateurs de vapeur, utilisation de combustibles mixtes MOX, nouveau bâtiment de stockage des assemblages de combustible usés,...


• les modifications non-importantes proposées par l'exploitant sont analysées et vérifiées par Bel V.

Révisions décennales de sûreté  
 

L'arrêté royal «Prescriptions de sûreté des installations nucléaires » du 30 novembre 2011 requiert une réévaluation systématique de la sûreté nucléaire d'une installation (ou d'une activité) existante, effectuée à intervalles réguliers, pour lutter contre les effets cumulatifs du vieillissement, des modifications, de l'expérience d'exploitation, de l'évolution technique et des aspects liés au site. Cette réévaluation vise à assurer un niveau élevé de sûreté nucléaire tout au long de la durée de vie de l'installation (ou de l'activité). L’arrêté royal précité incorpore les « reference levels » de WENRA dans la législation belge ainsi que la transposition de la directive européenne sur la sûreté (2009/71).

Les révisions décennales consistent en une évaluation globale de tous les aspects importants relatifs à la sûreté d'un établissement, par l'exploitant, en vue de justifier la poursuite de son exploitation et de définir des mesures d'amélioration pour augmenter le niveau de sûreté de l'établissement dans la mesure du possible.

Pour réaliser ces révisions décennales, l'AFCN recommande d'utiliser les facteurs de sûreté tels que définis dans le guide SSG-25 de l'AIEA.

Bel V évalue les documents de méthodologie, les rapports d'évaluation des facteurs de sûreté et du dimensionnement des installations auxiliaires, l'évaluation globale et les plans d'actions présentés par l’exploitant, et transmet son évaluation à l'AFCN.

 
Autres installations

Inspections légales et évaluations de sûreté pour les installations de classe I autres que les centrales nucléaires:

• installations relatives au cycle du combustible : Belgonucléaire, Belgoprocess

• Centre d'Etude de l'énergie nucléaire : SCK•CEN

• installation de production et de conditionnement de radionucléides : IRE

• réacteur de recherche THETIS à l'Université de Gand

Inspections légales pour les installations de classes 2 et 3:

• centres de médecine nucléaire (thérapie : traitement de la thyroïde, ...; diagnostic : scintigraphie osseuse, ...)

• installations médicales (rayons X utilisés par les médecins, les dentistes, ...)

• installations d'irradiation

• laboratoires universitaires

• accélérateurs de particules (cyclotrons)

• sous-traitant spécialisé pour centrales nucléaires

Inspections légales = contrôle périodique du service de Contrôle Physique et de l'exécution correcte de ses missions. La périodicité minimale du contrôle dépend du type d'installation : contrôle permanent pour les installations de classe I, trimestriel pour les installations de classe 2 et annuel pour les installations de classe 3.

SCK•CEN  

Centre d'étude de l'énergie nucléaire créé en 1952 et situé sur le site nucléaire de Mol-Dessel

Missions centrées sur la science et la technologie nucléaire, en particulier la sûreté nucléaire, des expériences sur réacteur, la radioprotection et la gestion des déchets radioactifs

Composé de diverses installations:  
Réacteurs:  

• réacteur à puissance nulle VENUS


• réacteur au graphite BR1


• réacteur de test de matériaux BR2


• réacteur de recherche à eau sous-pression BR3, en phase de démantèlement


Vue du réacteur BR2

Laboratoires:  

• haute et moyenne activités

• installation souterraine HADES pour l'étude d'un stockage de déchets en profondeur (couche géologique)

• orienté en sûreté nucléaire

• orienté en gestion des déchets (stockage)

Installations liées au cycle du combustible
Belgonucléaire  

Situé sur le site nucléaire de Mol-Dessel En service depuis 1973 Spécialisé dans la fabrication du combustible mixte (MOX) pour les réacteurs à eau légère. La production de MOX à Belgonucléaire a été arrêtée en 2007. Les installations sont en phase de démantèlement.

Belgoprocess  

Situé sur le site nucléaire de Mol-Dessel Filiale à 100% de l'ONDRAF, l'agence publique chargée de la gestion des déchets radioactifs en Belgique En service depuis 1984 et emploie actuellement 300 personnes. L'ONDRAF assigne à Belgoprocess le traitement des déchets radioactifs produits en Belgique qui ne peuvent être traités par les producteurs eux-mêmes. L'objectif principal de Belgoprocess est de gérer les déchets radioactifs de façon à minimiser les risques d'effets nocifs pour la population et pour l'environnement.

Les activités peuvent être scindées en deux domaines:

le traitement, le conditionnement et le stockage temporaire sûrs et efficaces de déchets radioactifs provenant des centrales nucléaires, des hôpitaux, des laboratoires, ...

le démantèlement des installations et bâtiments, en particulier d'Eurochemic, une installation de retraitement située sur le site de Mol-Dessel et définitivement mise à l'arrêt à la fin des années 70

Institut des Radioéléments (IRE)  

Situé à Fleurus
En service depuis 1971
Spécialisé dans la production et les conditionnement de radionucléides à des fins médicales