Other activities

Besides its regulatory activities, Bel V is involved in other activities directly derived from the requirements of the regulations :

Documentation
 

A systematic survey of the technical literature has been established for many years, covering journals, books, conference proceedings; abstracts are usually written and introduced in a data base, together with rules and regulations from the USA, from Europe (France, Germany, Finland,...) and from international organizations (IAEA, ICRP,...).

Feedback of operating experience
 

Even if the operating experience from foreign plants had already been considered in the initial safety analyses of the Belgian nuclear power plants, it has been formalized only after the TMI accident. Various data bases have been developed at Bel V: they provide a very effective help to safety assessment and a feedback to nuclear installations, if applicable.

Training of Bel V engineers
 

In order to reach and to maintain a adequate level of competence within Bel V, an initial in-depth training for newcomers and continuous training for all its personnel are provided as well as a on-the-job training.

Probabilistic safety analysis (PSA)
 

Bel V has initiated and has led the Belgian participation to different research programmes in reliability and risk analysis, organized by the European Commission (EC). On the basis of this experience, Bel V has promoted the use of the PSA technique in the safety analysis of the Belgian nuclear power plants. Bel V performs an on line critical review of the PSA methodology, assesses the plant modelization and data and approves the overall results, as well as the implementation of PSA-induced modifications. Bel V unit inspectors collaborate with Bel V PSA specialists in these assessments.

Severe accidents
 

After Chernobyl, studies of severe accidents have been required by Bel V from the Belgian nuclear power plants. The aim of those studies is to characterize the phenomena linked to core melt, to assess their impact on the risk of large radioactive releases and to analyse the possible safety features and human interventions to prevent core melt. A collaboration has been established with IRSN to validate computer codes.

Research and development
 

As a Regulatory Bodies which must keep abreast with the evolution of nuclear safety related knowledge, Bel V has focused its R & D efforts on the following main topics :

• probabilistic safety analyses

• codes for transients and accidents adapted to Belgian plants (collaboration with IRSN)

• use of finite elements for thermal and mechanical analysis

• HALDEN research project

• software reliability

• radioactive wastes

• ageing related activities

• safety principles for future reactors

Autres activités

En dehors de ses activités réglementaires, Bel V est impliqué dans d'autres activités directement issues des exigences de la réglementation :

Documentation
 

Un suivi systématique de la littérature technique a été établi depuis de nombreuses années et concerne les revues, les livres, les actes de conférences; des résumés sont établis et introduits dans une banque de données en même temps que les règles et réglementation émanant des USA, d'Europe (France, Allemagne, Finlande, ...) ou d'instances internationales (AIEA, Commission Internationale de Protection Radiologique, ...).

Retour d'expérience
 

Même si l'expérience en exploitation des centrales étrangères a été considérée dans les analyses de sûreté initiales des centrales nucléaires belges, ce processus n'a été formalisé qu'après l'accident de TMI. Diverses banques de données ont été développées à cet effet par Bel V: elles fournissent une aide efficace à l'évaluation de sûreté et, si elles sont applicables, un feed-back aux installations nucléaires.

Formation des ingénieurs de Bel V
 

Afin d'atteindre et de maintenir la compétence de son personnel à un niveau adéquat, une formation initiale intense et une formation continue sont assurées de même qu'une formation sur le tas.

Analyses probabilistes de sûreté (PSA)
 

Bel V a initié et mené la participation belge à différents programmes de recherche en fiabilité et en analyse de risque organisés par la Commission Européenne (CE). Sur base de son expérience, Bel V a encouragé l'utilisation des techniques PSA dans l'analyse de sûreté des centrales nucléaires belges. Bel V effectue un examen critique de la méthodologie PSA, évalue la modélisation de la centrale et des données et approuve les résultats globaux. La mise en oeuvre des modifications induites par les études PSA est également évaluée par AVN. Les inspecteurs d'unité de Bel V collaborent avec les spécialistes PSA de Bel V dans ces évaluations.

Accidents graves
 

Après Tchernobyl, des études d'accidents graves ont été demandées par Bel V pour les centrales nucléaires belges. Le but de ces études est de décrire en détail les phénomènes associés à la fusion du cœur, d'évaluer leur impact sur le risque de rejets radioactifs importants et d'analyser les aménagements de sûreté et interventions humaines envisageables pour empêcher la fusion du cœur. Une collaboration a été instaurée avec l'IRSN pour valider des moyens de calcul.

Recherche et développement
 

Les organismes de sûreté devant suivre l'évolution des connaissances en sûreté nucléaire, Bel V a concentré ses efforts en recherche et développement dans les sujets principaux suivants:

• analyses probabilistes de sûreté

• codes de calcul de transitoires et d'accidents adaptés aux centrales belges (collaboration avec l'IRSN)

• utilisation des éléments finis pour effectuer des analyses mécaniques et thermiques

• projet de recherche HALDEN

• fiabilité des logiciels

• déchets radioactifs

• vieillissement

• principes de sûreté appliqués aux réacteurs futurs