Legal Framework

A federal organization in coordination with local level

The nuclear emergency response organization is governed by the «Nuclear and Radiological Emergency Plan for the Belgian Territory», established by the Royal Decree of 17 October 2003.

This plan aims at ensuring the coordination of the protective measures for the population and the environment in case of a nuclear accident or for any other radiological emergency situation which could lead to an overexposure of the population or to a significant contamination of the environment.

   

The Nuclear and Radiological Emergency Plan for the Belgian Territory is mainly designed for emergency situations in the major Belgian nuclear installations : the nuclear power plants of Tihange and Doel, the Nuclear Research Centre in Mol, the Institute for Radioelements in Fleurus, the fuel fabrication factory (Belgonucléaire) and the waste treatment site (Belgoprocess) in Dessel. This plan is also activated for other emergency situations, which can occur either on the Belgian territory (accident during the transport of radioactive materials or radiological emergency resulting from a terrorist attack for instance) or nearby (EdF nuclear power plant of Chooz for instance).

In case of an emergency, the off-site operations are directed by the "Governmental Crisis and Coordination Centre" (CGCCR), under the authority of the Minister of Internal Affairs. The implementation of the actions decided at the federal level and the management of the intervention teams are under the leadership of the Governor of the Province concerned

   

COFECO defines the general emergency strategy and takes the fundamental decisions (necessity and extent of the urgent measures to be taken to protect the population and/or the food chain or the drinking water supply) and assumes the political responsibility. COFECO follows the advices of the evaluation- and the socio-economic cells ;

CELEVAL evaluates the situation from the radiological and technical point of view, based on the information coming from the affected site, from the field measurement cell and from organizations represented within the cell, and advises COFECO on the protective measures for the population and the environment. CELEVAL is also in charge for defining the environmental radioactivity measurement strategy;

CELMES co-ordinates all the activities related to the collection and validation of radiological information transmitted either by the field measurement teams or by the monitoring network, called TELERAD, and implements the measurement strategy defined by CELEVAL ;

ECOSOC advises COFECO on the socio-economic consequences of the decisions taken or to be taken, is in charge of the management of these consequences, informs COFECO on the follow-up of the decisions in the sectors concerned and ensures the return to a normal socio-economic situation after the accident ;

CELINFO is in charge of communication with the population, the media, the neighbouring countries and the specific target groups.

Cadre Légal

Une organisation fédérale relayée au niveau local

L’organisation de crise nucléaire est régie par le «Plan d’Urgence Nucléaire et Radiologique pour le Territoire Belge», fixé par Arrêté Royal du 17 octobre 2003.

Ce plan vise à assurer la coordination des mesures de protection de la population et de l’environnement en cas d’accident nucléaire ou dans toute autre situation d’urgence radiologique pouvant conduire à une exposition excessive de la population ou à une contamination importante de l’environnement.

   

Le Plan d’Urgence Nucléaire et Radiologique pour le Territoire Belge est essentiellement conçu pour les situations d’urgence dans les principales installations nucléaires belges : les centrales nucléaires de Tihange et de Doel, le Centre d’Etude de l’Energie Nucléaire à Mol, l’Institut des radioéléments à Fleurus et les usines de fabrication de combustible (Belgonucléaire) et de traitement des déchets (Belgoprocess) à Dessel. Ce plan est également mis en œuvre pour d’autres situations d’urgence, que celles-ci surviennent sur le territoire belge (accident lors du transport de matières radioactives ou urgence radiologique suite à un acte terroriste par exemple) ou à proximité immédiate (centrale nucléaire EdF à Chooz par exemple). En cas de situation d’urgence, les opérations sont dirigées par le « Centre Gouvernemental de Coordination et de Crise » (CGCCR), placé sous l’autorité du Ministre de l’Intérieur.

La mise en oeuvre des actions décidées au niveau fédéral et la gestion des équipes d’intervention sont quant à elles placées sous la direction du Gouverneur de la Province concernée.

   

COFECO met au point la stratégie générale face à la crise, prend les décisions fondamentales (nécessité et de l’étendue de mesures immédiates de protection de la population et/ou de la chaîne alimentaire ou de l’alimentation en eau potable) et en assume la responsabilité politique. COFECO s'appuie notamment sur les avis des cellules d'évaluation et socio-économique;

CELEVAL évalue la situation sur le plan radiologique et technique, sur base de l’information en provenance du site affecté, de la cellule de mesure et des institutions représentées en son sein, et conseille COFECO sur les mesures de protection de la population et de l’environnement. CELEVAL est également chargée de déterminer la stratégie de mesures de radioactivité dans l'environnement;

CELMES coordonne l’ensemble des activités de collecte et de validation des mesures radiologiques en provenance des équipes de mesures envoyées sur le terrain ou du système de surveillance TELERAD et exécute la stratégie de mesure définie par CELEVAL ;

ECOSOC avise COFECO des retombées socio-économiques des décisions prises ou à prendre, assure le traitement de ces conséquences, informe COFECO du suivi des décisions dans les secteurs concernés et assure le retour à une situation socio-économique normale après l'accident

CELINFO assure la communication vers le public, les médias, les pays voisins et les groupes cibles spécifiques.