International Conference on the
Challenges Faced by
Technical and Scientific Support Organizations in
Enhancing Nuclear Safety and Security:
Ensuring Effective and Sustainable Expertise

Brussels, Belgium
15–18 October 2018

 

Organized by the
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Hosted by Bel V

 

From 15 to 18 October 2018, Bel V has hosted, on behalf of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the “International Conference on the Challenges Faced by Technical and Scientific Support Organizations in Enhancing Nuclear Safety and Security: Ensuring Effective and Sustainable Expertise”.

This conference continued the tradition established by the three preceding conferences on this subject, which were held, respectively, in Beijing, China (2014), in Tokyo, Japan (2010) and in Aix-en-Provence, France (2007).

Like these earlier conferences, the 2018 conference played a vital part in the national and international efforts made to ensure the effectiveness of nuclear and radiation safety and security regulatory systems. The organization focused, in particular, on prerequisites and ways for maintaining and strengthening the actions of TSOs (Technical and Scientific Support Organizations) in supporting the enhancement of nuclear and radiation safety and security worldwide.

It was already recognized that nuclear safety and security are to a great extent scientific in nature and that a regulatory body with responsibilities for nuclear facilities and other licensed activities involving radioactive material needs to have permanent access to supporting expertise. One of the main conclusions of the 2018 conference concerns the need to assist Member States, especially with the development and strengthening, in an effective and sustainable way, of the scientific and technical capabilities that TSOs can draw upon in order to support regulatory bodies. This fourth conference on TSOs has also presented achievements that address the recommendations from the previous TSO conferences.

This conference was organized by the IAEA and hosted by the Government of Belgium through Bel V, in close cooperation with ETSON (European Technical Safety Organisations Network) and the ETSON Junior Staff Programme (ETSON-JSP).

The organization had the pleasure of the presence of Vice Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior Jan JAMBON. His address during the opening session of the conference strengthened the great importance the Belgian Government attaches to the development and maintenance of high expertise standards in nuclear safety and security.
  Conference Website

Pictures-0025
Pictures-0026
Pictures-0027
Pictures-0038
Pictures-0048
Pictures-0056
Pictures-0233
Pictures-0236
Pictures-0245
Pictures-0246
Pictures-0413
Pictures-0423
Pictures-0453

We use cookies on this website, which involves processing of your personal data. These cookies are used for statistical purposes and to provide you a more personalized browsing experience (e.g. by remembering your preferences on other websites). Do you agree with our use of cookies?
More information Ok

International Conference on the
Challenges Faced by
Technical and Scientific Support Organizations in
Enhancing Nuclear Safety and Security:
Ensuring Effective and Sustainable Expertise

Brussels, Belgium
15–18 October 2018

 

Organized by the
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Hosted by Bel V

 

Du 15 au 18 octobre 2018, Bel V a accueilli, au nom de l’Agence Internationale de l’Energie Atomique (AIEA), l’“International Conference on the Challenges Faced by Technical and Scientific Support Organizations in Enhancing Nuclear Safety and Security: Ensuring Effective and Sustainable Expertise”.

Cette conférence poursuit ainsi la tradition des trois conférences tenues sur ce même sujet, lesquelles ont eu lieu respectivement à Beijing, Chine (2014), à Tokyo, Japon (2010) et à Aix-en-Provence, France (2007).

Tout comme les conférences précédentes, l’édition 2018 jouait un rôle essentiel dans les efforts entrepris au niveau national et international pour garantir l’efficacité de systèmes réglementaires sur le plan de la sûreté nucléaire, de la radioprotection et de la sécurité. L’organisation a notamment porté une attention particulière aux conditions essentielles, ainsi que les moyens associés, pour maintenir et renforcer les actions de support des TSO’s (Technical and Scientific Support Organizations, en vue d’augmenter la sûreté nucléaire, la radioprotection et la sécurité au niveau mondial.

Il est communément reconnu que la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaire sont de nature principalement scientifique, et qu’un régulateur, responsable des installations nucléaires et autres activités agréées impliquant du matériel radioactif, doit avoir accès de façon permanente à un support en expertise. Une des conclusions principales de l’édition 2018 concerne la nécessité d’assister les Pays Membres, en particulier pour le développement et le renforcement – de façon efficace et durable – des capacités scientifiques et techniques auxquelles les TSO’s peuvent faire appel pour soutenir leurs régulateurs.

Cette quatrième conférence a également présenté les résultats des actions menées pour aborder les recommandations des conférences TSO précédentes.

La conférence était organisée par l’AIEA; le Gouvernement belge, via Bel V, en était l’hôte, en collaboration étroite avec ETSON (European Technical Safety Organisations Network) et avec le ETSON Junior Staff Programme (ETSON-JSP).

L’organisation a eu l’honneur de la présence du Vice Premier Ministre et Ministre de l’Intérieur Jan JAMBON. Son discours lors de la session d’ouverture de la conférence a souligné l’importance que le Gouvernement belge accorde au développement et au maintien d’un haut niveau d’expertise en sûreté et sécurité nucléaire.

  Site web de la conférence

Pictures-0025
Pictures-0026
Pictures-0027
Pictures-0038
Pictures-0048
Pictures-0056
Pictures-0233
Pictures-0236
Pictures-0245
Pictures-0246
Pictures-0413
Pictures-0423
Pictures-0453

Nous utilisons des cookies et des plugins sociaux sur ce site Internet, ce qui implique le traitement de vos données à caractère personnel. Ces cookies sont utilisés à des fins statistiques et pour vous fournir une expérience de navigation plus personnalisée (par exemple, en mémorisant vos préférences sur d'autres sites Internet). Êtes-vous d'accord avec notre utilisation de cookies ?
En savoir plus Ok