PWR fundamentals

Diagram of a PWR-nuclear power station
I. Primary circuit
II. Secondary circuit
III. Tertiary circuit
A. Reactor
B. Steam generator
C. Turbine
D. Condenser

Three separate units


A nuclear power plant differs from a conventional power plant by the way is generated. While steam is produced in a conventional thermal power plant by means of a combustion process in a steam boiler, in a nuclear power plant, a fission process takes place in a reactor.

The production of steam in a PWR (pressurized water reactor) is achieved in several steps:

1. In the reactor, fuel rods transfer their heat to a primary circuit containing water. This water becomes extremely hot - approximately 300°C - but does not boil as it is kept pressurized at approximately 155 bar. Hence the name "pressurized water reactor".

2. The heated water is routed to a heat exchanger, i.e. the steam generator. The heat from reactor coolant water is transferred to a separate secondary circuit (the water-steam circuit). Due to a lower pressure in this circuit the water is converted into steam; the steam is then used to drive a turbine connected to a generator.

3. Finally, the steam leaving the turbine is converted back into water by cooling it. This cooling process occurs in the condenser via a separate tertiary cooling circuit, using water from an external source.

PWR nuclear power plants therefore have three separate circuits:

• the primary circuit which transfers the heat from the reactor via the steam generator to the secondary circuit

• the secondary circuit (water-steam circuit)

• the tertiary cooling circuit which converts the expanded steam back into water.

Such a design prevents radioactive releases into the environment.

We use cookies on this website, which involves processing of your personal data. These cookies are used for statistical purposes and to provide you a more personalized browsing experience (e.g. by remembering your preferences on other websites). Do you agree with our use of cookies?
More information Ok